Randy's Blog

Things I think about…

Why I’m Here

leave a comment »

I’ve been thinking for some time about writing a blog to see if anyone else is interested in the kind of things I tend to think about. I have been observing the world for a while now, and think a lot about things I find amusing, incongruous, touching, uplifting, pathetic, depressing, ridiculous, striking, puzzling or just weird.

Something appears to have changed about the time I came back home. Expectations of self-reliance, honesty and maturity seem to have disappeared. I sometimes think I came back into a different universe than the one I grew up in, as if I somehow went through an invisible door between parallel universes. This universe is very similar to the one I left, but there are subtle differences.

Admittedly, I may have a skewed view of the world. People who are self-reliant, honest and mature usually don’t use the services I provide, unless they are unlucky. The folks who do use my services don’t seem to understand what they did or are doing wrong, aren’t willing or able to take responsibility for themselves or their actions and expect, even demand, that the community take care of them.

Nevertheless, I intend to use this blog to explore my views on the world as I see it and maybe work out, at least in my own mind, what is going on here. I probably will not write something every day, as my goal is not to entertain the reader, but to work things out in my mind. So posts will be intermittent and irregular, just as my thoughts are.

Written by Randy Loflin

May 29, 2009 at 16:35

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

